Mon - Thu: 9:00 to 9:00
Friday: 9:00 to 5:00
Saturday: 10:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 12:00 to 5:00*

*Closed Sundays followed by a holiday Monday

Click here for closure dates



Canadian Citizenship Cultural Access Pass

CAPPasstinyHave you recently received your Canadian citizenship? Coquitlam Public Library is a pickup location for the Institute for Canadian Citizenship Cultural Access Pass. 

Find out more.

New Canadians

See our Brochure for New Canadians which covers British Columbia and Coquitlam history, population, government and useful Internet sites.  See Leaders of our communities below.


Federal Government

Head of State:
Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Governor General:
His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston

Prime Minister:
Justin Trudeau

Political party in power:
Liberal Party

Leader of the Opposition:
Rona Ambrose (interim leader of the Conservative Party)

Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition:

Other opposition parties and leaders:
New Democratic Party: Tom Mulcair
Green Party: Elizabeth May
Bloc Quebecois: Rheal Fortin (interim leader)

Members of Parliament:
Port Moody-Coquitlam MP: Fin Donnelly (NDP)
Coquitlam-Port Coquitlam MP: Ron McKinnon (Liberal)

Federal Electoral District:
To find out which electoral district you live in by using your postal code, use the website at http://www2.parl.gc.ca/parlinfo/Compilations/HouseOfCommons/MemberByPostalCode.aspx .

Provincial Government

Lieutenant Governor:
The Honourable Judith Guichon

The Honourable Christy Clark

Provincial party in power:
BC Liberals

Provincial opposition party and leader:
BC NDP: John Horgan

Provincial representative, or MLA:
Coquitlam-Maillardville MLA: Selina Robinson (BC NDP)
Port Moody-Coquitlam MLA: Rick Glumac (BC NDP)
Coquitlam-Burke Mountain MLA: Joan Isaacs (BC Liberal)

You can use the website http://www.leg.bc.ca/mla/3-1-1.htm to find out who your MLA is by postal code. 

Territorial Government

Do not worry about the Territorial Government section. We do not have one; ours is a provincial government because we live in a province, not a territory.

Municipal Government


Richard Stewart

Library Locations
Poirier Branch
575 Poirier Street
Coquitlam, BC
V3J 6A9

City Centre Branch
1169 Pinetree Way
Coquitlam, BC
V3B 0Y1
604-554-READ (7323)